Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Custom Fields - Conditional Logic

Posted 02-19-2020 14:29
    I am new to Cvent - Is there a way to add a conditional logic to a drop down custom field. IF Tag IS EQUAL TO "Other" SHOW "Please Describe" (separate text field).
    #Flex-Creating/ManagingEvents

------------------------------
    Ryan Murphy
    Independent Sector

• 2.  RE: Custom Fields - Conditional Logic

Community MVP
    Posted 02-19-2020 16:11
    In emails? You can do some conditional logic only in classic.

Steven Schlossman
    Jack of all trades. Master of none.
    BMW Car Club of America

• 3.  RE: Custom Fields - Conditional Logic

Posted 02-19-2020 16:23
    Not emails - On the registration path.

Ryan Murphy
    Independent Sector

• 4.  RE: Custom Fields - Conditional Logic

Posted 02-20-2020 08:53

Hi Ryan,

You should take a look in admin --> account --> custom contact fields --> click any field and go to the advanced logic tab. This will only help if you are ok with displaying both fields on the registration path and just want the values in the drop down to vary depending on what is selected in the first field. For example, I've set in my custom field for state/province different values to show up depending on what country you have selected.

https://support.cvent.com/apex/CommunityArticle?id=000021636

I do not believe there is a way to completely hide a field though if a certain value is selected in another field. For instance, if you wanted to hide your opt in statement (if it was a custom field) based on if an invitee selects United States as their country but if they select United Kingdom that field would show up.

Interested to hear if anyone has solved for this though in other ways. I think registration questions on the event level are more flexible with visibility logic if you can go that route.

Best,
    Evan

Evan Ring
    Senior Operations Manager
    Dow Jones & Co., Inc

• 5.  RE: Custom Fields - Conditional Logic